Redshirt Report: Termini, Christensen win titles at Harold Nichols Cyclone Open

Freshmen Nicholos Termini (141 pounds) and Peter Christensen (197) each won freshman/sophomore division titles at the Harold Nichols Cyclone Open

Christensen got his first taste of college wrestling action Sunday and he ended his day with a championship.

He pinned his way through the bracket.

Christensen notched pins against Andy Murphy (Iowa State WC), Lawrence Smith-Jackson (Iowa Central) and Quez Bostic (Iowa Central) en route to his title.

In total, Christensen spent just 3:24 on the mat.

Termini battled his way to a perfect 4-0 record in the freshman/sophomore division’s 141-pound weight class.

He began the day by pinning Garrett Moll (Northern Iowa – Unattached) in 41 seconds. He then edged Noah Nemmer (Iowa State) 11-8 in the quarters.

Termini posted an 11-4 win over Jaivon Jones of Northern Illinois in the semis before besting Dillon Nichols (Northern Illinois – Unattached) in the finals 5-3.

Freshman Eric Barnett also made his collegiate debut. He placed second in the freshman/sophomore division at 125 pounds.

Barnett opened his tournament with back-to-back pins, defeating Jaymus Wilson (Grand View – Unattached) and Jaxon Roney (Iowa Central) to reach the semifinals.

There, he topped Kyle Gollhoffer (Northern Iowa – Unattached) via a 12-5 decision.

In the championship bout, Barnett fell to Chris Cannon (Northwestern – Unattached) by decision, 7-3.

A week removed from winning the Pointer Open, freshman Josh Otto placed second in the freshman/sophomore division at 165.

Otto won by technical fall in the quarterfinals, topping William Condon (Iowa State WC) 24-9.

He then defeated Caleb Long (Iowa State – Unattached) by decision, 7-3.

In the finals, Otto was pinned by Lance Runyon (Northern Iowa – Unattached) in 6:14.

Freshmen Kyle Burwick (133) and Dan Stilling (149) each placed third, while Trey Escobar (149) finished sixth.

Scharenbrock leads Badgers reserves

A contingent of four of UW’s non-starters also made the trek to Ames. They were led by redshirt freshman Drew Scharenbrock who won the championship at 157 pounds in the open division.

Scharenbrock went 4-0 with four bonus-point victories.

He pinned Kevin Foley (Iowa State WC) in 3:27 to advance to the quarters. Once there, he defeated Keaton Geerts (Northern Iowa) 24-5.

In the semifinals, Scharenbrock pinned Paden Moore of Northern Iowa in 3:52.

Scharenbrock capped his perfect run with 19-3 tech fall over Dylan Thurston (Northern Iowa – Unattached).

Patrick Spray placed sixth at 157 for Wisconsin.

Anders Lantz (174) and Brady Wetter (197) also competed for Wisconsin, but did not place.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: